smartconsumer: Getting Help from the Lemon Law - Know



Getting Help from the Lemon Law

{What to Know} {What to Do}
{green_line_tab.gif}


A new car is second only to a home as the most expensive purchase many consumers make. According to the National Automobile Dealers Association, the average price of a new car in the United States is about $30,000. That’s why it’s important to know how to get help if your dream car turns out to be a nightmare.

Connecticut was the first state to put a “Lemon Law” in place to help owners of defective new vehicles. Since it began more than twenty-five years ago, the Lemon Law program has returned more than $60 million in refunds and replacement vehicles to Connecticut consumers.

The “Lemon Law” is a nickname for Connecticut General Statute Chapter 743b, “Automobile Warranties.” The law put into place an informal arbitration process to resolve disputes between passenger vehicle owners and manufacturers.

 

Program requirements

The Lemon Law covers those vehicles that do not conform to the manufacturer’s express warranty and have substantial manufacturer's defects affecting the use, safety or value of the vehicle.

The defects must have showed up within the first two years after the original owner took delivery or within the first 24,000 miles on the odometer (whichever comes first). Repairs must have been attempted during a certain time period, but these defects could not be repaired, even after “a reasonable number of attempts."

 
The law presumes that a “reasonable number” of attempts is four. But there are exceptions to that guideline.




Content Last Modified on 2/25/2013 11:17:44 AM