smartconsumer: Getting Help from the Lemon Law - Know



Getting Help from the Lemon Law

{What to Know} {What to Do}
{green_line_tab.gif}
 

{woman with lemon car} A new car is the most expensive purchase many people make. According to the National Automobile Dealers Association, the average price of a new car sold in the United States is about $30,000. That’s why it’s important to know how to get help if your dream car turns out to be a nightmare.

Connecticut was the first state to put a “Lemon Law” in place to help owners of defective new vehicles. Since it began more than twenty-five years ago, the Lemon Law program has returned more than $60 million in refunds and replacement vehicles to Connecticut consumers.

The “Lemon Law” is a nickname for Connecticut General Statute Chapter 743b, “Automobile Warranties.” The law put into place an informal arbitration process to resolve disputes between passenger vehicle owners and manufacturers.

 

The Lemon Law covers vehicles that are registered as “passenger,” “combination” or “motorcycle” that are bought or leased new in Connecticut.

 

Program requirements

The law covers those vehicles that do not conform to the manufacturer’s express warranty, and have substantial manufacturer's defects affecting the use, safety or value of the vehicle.

The defects must have shown up within the first two years after the original owner took delivery or within the first 24,000 miles on the odometer (whichever comes first). Repairs must have been attempted during a certain time period, but these defects could not be repaired, even after “a reasonable number of attempts."

 

For more details, please read our booklet, “Back in the Driver’s seat.


 







Content Last Modified on 12/8/2016 1:56:09 PM